Kiilu, Kumaka and Zawadi triumph in the KPA Pension Polls

Mombasa – September 29, 2017

Jorum Kiilu, Salim Kumaka and Joan Zawadi emerged victorious after winning the three available positions for Trustees of the KPA Pension Scheme Defined Contribution (DC) in elections held on Friday.


General Manager Human Resource and Administration Dr Amani Komora presents a certificate to Ms. Joan Zawadi. The General Manager was representing the Managing Director Mrs. Catherine Mturi-Wairi, the Chief Returning Officer for the elections. 

The victorious trio saw off ten other contestants after garnering 1,909 votes, 1,324 votes and 1,079 votes respectively.

Managing Director Mrs. Catherine Mturi-Wairi urged the newly elected KPA Pension Scheme Defined Contribution (DC) to show commitment and uphold integrity for the successful implementation of initiatives.

Speaking during the announcement of the election results, the MD reiterated the Authority's assurance towards supporting the Trustees in streamlining the Scheme structure to achieve desired goals.

In a speech delivered on her behalf by the General Manager Human Resource and Administration Dr. Amani Komora, the managing director commended the Trustees for their efforts towards establishing a post-retirement medical scheme for members.


The winners from left: Jorum Kiilu, Joan Zawadi and Salim Kumaka celebrating their victory.

"Additionally, the Trustees have initiated the first Strategic Plan that is under formulation which shall be rolled out to the members in due course," said the MD.

Members elect three Trustees and the Employer (KPA) nominates three Trustees to constitute a full board.

The Pension Scheme is required by law to hold elections after every three years.

The Scheme currently has a membership of 5,507 with a fund value of Kshs 4.53 Billion as at 31st December 2016 from a fund value of Kshs 772.26 million in December 2013.

KPA runs two Pension Schemes namely the non-contributory or Defined Benefits Scheme (DB) and the Defined Contributory Scheme (DC).

The Authority's contribution is twice that of employees pegged at 20% of the basic salary of employees.


 General Manager Engineering Services Eng. Joseph Atonga (standing second left), in his capacity as Deputy Chief Returning Officer, inspects the tallying process at One Stop Centre polling station which had the largest number of eligible voters at 1,650. 

"At the age of 60, one is not able to put in a lot of time and energy to reproductive work, and therefore finds it difficult to earn any money to sustain their lives. Pension becomes the single most important earning for such a person," said Mrs. Wairi.

The election had attracted a record of 13 contestants. Below are the details on the performance for all the candidates from the highest based on the number of votes:


1.Jorum M. Kiilu1,909
2.Salim Kumaka Hamisi1,324
3.Joan Karema Zawadi 1,079
4. Abdi Huka Musa733
5.George Ondigo721
6.Harry John Arigi655
7.Ali Nassir Abdirahma615
8.Farah Omar509
9.Constance Rose Mcharo482
10.Alphaeus O. Aluoch472
11.Isaac Mudonga470
12.Dixion Kibagendi348
13.Augustine Nyagah115