Sign In

 KPA rolls out East Africa Maritime Awards (EAMA)

​KPA rolls out East Africa Maritime Awards (EAMA)

Mombasa - July 18,2018

The Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) on Wednesday launched the East Africa Maritime Awards (EAMA) that will seek to recognize and award notable users of the Port of Mombasa.

The awards aim to set performance standards by encouraging port users towards a more collaborative approach to regional trade while taking cognizance of the praiseworthy achievements by individual players.


General Manager Corporate Services Mr. Edward Kamau giving the keynote address during the launch of the EAMA awards.

In a speech delivered on his behalf by General Manager Corporate Services Mr. Edward Kamau, KPA Acting Managing Director Dr Arch. Daniel Manduku said that the new award system was a break from the previous approach where the Authority undertook rewards programs without involving external stakeholders.

"Over the years, we have appreciated your efforts by giving awards to different players in the industry. While this has been commendable, we have decided in collaboration with other anchor stakeholders to initiate a reward system that will be free, fair, and open to all the industry players to participate in line with international standards of practice," he said.

The Authority has incorporated the help of an independent expert, Think Business Limited, who will put in place a research-based method of assessment in the award process that is objective, valid and foolproof.


Ag. PMAESA Secretary General Col. Andre Ciseau (L) and Kenya Revenue Authority Deputy Commissioner in charge of Southern Region Mr. Nicholas Kinoti following the proceedings of the launch of the EAMA awards.

EAMA awards target the maritime community, both individuals and organisations in Eastern Africa that endeavor to strengthen and grow their services at the Port of Mombasa.

The list includes importers and exporters, shipping lines and agents, cargo consolidators, clearing and forwarding agents and warehousing companies, CFS operators, partner government agencies, transporters, liquid and bulk operators, providers of support services among others.

The initiative comes in the wake of massive modernisation of port infrastructure at the Mombasa seaside to enhance port efficiency and enable fast movement of cargo to the hinterland via the Standard Gauge Railway.


Group photo of the KPA top management and port stakeholders during the launch of the East Africa Maritime Awards. 

Between April and July this year, the port has received six Rail Mounted Gantry (RMG) cranes , one new Ship to Shore Gantry Crane and 12 Rubber Tyred Gantry Cranes, for the Second Container Terminal.

During the same period, the Authority also acquired additional 28 new terminal tractors and four Eco Hoppers fitted with environmental friendly gadgets that reduce dust emission while handling dirty cargoes such as Clinker, Gypsum and Coal. The equipment is now operational and contributing to improved port performance.

At the end of the independent judging process that will uphold world-class standards, the Authority will be able to give 26 awards that will recognize the below categories:

  1.Best Shipping Line

2. Best Shipping Agent

3.Best Shipping Agent (Dry Bulk)

4.Best Shipping Agent (Liquid Bulk)

5.Best Cargo Consolidator

6.Best Cargo Freight Station (CFS)

7.Best Clearing and Forwarding Agent [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, DRC]

8.Best Regional Cargo Logistics Provider

9.Best Cargo Transporter [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, Burundi and DRC]

10.Exporter of The Year [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and DRC]

11.Importer of The Year [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, Burundi, DRC and Tanzania]

12.Membership Organisation Award [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, Burundi and DRC]

13.Most Efficient Partner Government Agency

14.Marine Cargo Insurance Award

15.Auxiliary Service Provider Award

16.Financial Service Provider Award

17.Excellence in Maritime Education & Training

18.The Safety Award

19.Business Initiative of The Year

20.Corporate Social Investment (CSI) Award

21.Innovation Award

22.The Environmental Protection Award

23.Maritime Journalist Award [Per Country in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, Burundi and DRC]

24.Young Achiever Award

25.Outstanding Woman Award

26.Lifetime Achievement Award

The EAMA awards are a strategic initiative of the Authority in collaboration with the Kenya Maritime Authority, Kenya Revenue Authority, Kenya Trade Network Agency, Shippers Council of Eastern Africa, East African Business Council and Think Business Limited.

The objective of the awards is to promote excellence in service delivery, appreciate exceptional contribution to the industry and economy, encourage innovation, and improve overall performance

The Big Story